Monday, June 10, 2013

Blood Drama by Christopher Meeks: Book Review: Premier Virtual Book Tours






Publisher: White Whiskers Press  (June 15, 2013)
 Genre: Mystery/Thriller/Suspense, Crime Thriller
 Available in: Print &  eBook, 242 pages

Everyone has a bad day. Graduate student Ian Nash has lost his girlfriend in addition to being dropped from a Ph.D. program in theater at a Southern California university. When he stops at a local coffee shop in the lobby of a bank to apply for a job, the proverbial organic matter hits the fan. A gang of four robs the bank, and things get bloody. Ian is taken hostage by the robbers when the police show up. Now he has to save his life.

FBI Special Agent Aleece Medina’s analysis of the bloody bank heist drives her into the pursuit of a robbery gang headed by two women. She doesn't anticipate how this robbery will pit her against both the bandits and the male higher-ups in the FBI while the media heats up during a giant manhunt.

The robbers are about to kill Ian, and all he has at hand is his knowledge of the stage.
 
 

4 Stars
I fell in love with Christopher Meeks’ writing after reading Love at Absolute Zero last year, so I was thrilled to accept the offer to review this, his latest effort.  Mr. Meeks seems to have an almost magical pen when it comes to capturing his characters’ unique quirks on paper.  This cast is filled with an odd assortment of misfits and miscreants, yet, as with the hero of Love at Absolute Zero, I had little trouble identifying with any of them. The story is well-balanced with enough humor to keep it from becoming too dark or depressive.  I particularly enjoyed the hot and cold, tug of war relationship between Aleece and Ian, although I did become exasperated with Ian’s whininess occasionally.
 
Polished and tightly structured, this novel should appeal to a wide reader segment.  The pacing is fast enough to keep the plot stirred up, and the intensity of the characters' resolve is heartfelt.  The ending surprised me; I felt satisfied and quite pleased with its closure.
This book was given to me by the author in exchange for my honest review.
 
Reviewed by Laurie-J


 



 Christopher Meeks first published short fiction in a number of literary journals, and the stories are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. Recently, he’s focused on novels. The Brightest Moon of the Century is a story of a man who yearns for love and success, covering over thirty years—a tale that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as “a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving.” His last novel, Love At Absolute Zero, is about a physicist who uses the tools of science to find his soul mate–and he has just three days. Critic Grady Harp calls the book “a gift.” The new novel, Blood Drama, has him edge into a thriller. Meeks also runs White Whisker Books and publishes four authors.

Christopher at the Red Room: http://redroom.com/member/christopher-meeks
Christopher’s Website www.chrismeeks.com
 



 

Blood Drama  Web Tour Schedule

So Many Precious Books May 13 Review & Giveaway
Books, Books & More Books May 14 Review
Books, Books & More Books May 15 Interview
Alive on the Shelves May 16 Review
Ordinary Girls May 17 Review
DWED Blog May 20 Review
DWED Blog May 21 Interview
She Treads Softly May 22 Review
Darlene’s Book Nook May 24th  Interview &Giveaway
OmniMyMystery June 6 Interview
Green Mountain May 27 Review
Book Lover’s Library May 28 Review
Book Lover’s Library May 29 Interview & Giveaway
Hezzi D’s Books & Cooks June 3 Review
Celtic Lady June 4 Interview
Laurie’s Thoughts & Reviews June 10 Review
Laurie’s Thoughts & Reviews June 11 Interview
I’d Rather be at the Beach June 12 Review & Giveaway
Self Taught Cook June 14 Review
Wormhole June 17 Review
Raging Bibliomania June 18 Review
Wormhole June 18 Interview & Giveaway
 
 
 
                                                       
    
 

1 comment:

Teddy Rose said...

I'm so glad you enjoyed Blood Drama. He sure does have a way with his pen!